Illamasqua raindrops

This I believe is my most expensive polish to date. Illamasqua is a higher end polish and I found Raindrops after seeing 365 Days of Colour – Hippie Songs.

Illamasqua raindrops is a sheer light blue/grey colour with some small iridescent flakies and its designed I believe to look just like raindrops. Cute huh! It was pretty popular when it was released and was actually discontinued  this is the re release version.

This is 4 coats. It really does go on sheer but 4 coats it ends up with a jelly finish. Its a sweet polish, not stunning or a wow but sweet and sometimes you need a polish that is sweet and not wow. I could wear this to a meeting (I’d say office but I’ve gone in with full glitter nails before, so this would be a meeting polish, a polish for ‘serious’ days)

Application was easy. I actually wore this for 3 days and no chips and minimal to wear. The quality is very good. £13.50 not sure. 3 days is about my max of any polish, and my nails grow quite quickly so theres no way you’ll see me wearing one polish for 7 days. So I’m really not sure about the £13.50 price tag.

Illamasqua Raindrops

Illamasqua Raindrops outside

Illamasqua Raindrops

Illamasqua Raindrops

Illamasqua Raindrops – Inside natural light

raindropsbottle

But I do have an issue with the bottle. 1) Its old fashioned. Its just square and a bit blah. And then 2) in order to apply easily you have to remove the big plastic lid to reveal the small plastic lid.

tops7

I mean come on! I pay £13.50 and you want me to remove the lid myself? And well the smaller top looks cheap, tacky and the whole bottle just screams middle aged to me. Sorry but thats how I feel. If this was around the £8 mark, I might be more impressed. But at £13.50 you are going for the premium market and well Zoya and Kiko bottles look much more quality (and contain quality polishes) and are cheaper.

Its a pretty polish, nice formula but it would have to take something just as special for me to buy Illamasqua again 😦

 

Edit – since writing this, I have folded and purchased 365 Days of Color Hippie Song – I’ll do a comparison when it arrives 🙂

Leave a Reply

