Fun with Flakies! Day 8 – Laid back DC challenge

That makes me think of Sheldon’s fun with flags! (Big Bang Theory if you have no idea what I’m waffling about)

Day 8 Flakies, Holo or Duo Chrome

Well I don’t own any Holo’s or Duo Chromes (I know, needs rectifying – any recommendations?) so its fun with flakies.

For this I did a simple sunset gradient and added the flakie on top – trying to give a glimmer to the sunset. Its also my first gradient and I am hooked – sooooo easy, and I think they make your nails look alot longer 🙂

The picture’s dont reflect the shimmer of the flakes and are not the best sorry! – but this is seriously a polish that when you layer, it just shimmers everywhere and the camera doesn’t reflect that well.

Sunset Gradient – China Glaze Orange Marmalade, Papaya Punch, Solar Power with Luxe and Lush and a coat of SV.

Image

I’ll also show you what I did for Chinese New Year – which used a flakie diagonal over Nail’s inc Holly Bush Vale – a stunning red, slightly sheer though (especially for Nails Inc which tend to be pretty opaque in 1 coat) – the below was 2 coats and I can still see VNL with the diagonal using China Glaze Luxe and Lush but the outcome was stunning.

Image

I’ll try luxe and lush over some cooler blue colours next, I’ve read it picks up the tone of the base colours so where over red/oranges it came over as gold, I’m hoping it’ll take on a silvery element over blues.

See the other challenge entrants here:
 



Leave a Reply

