Skittles

So my no buy till May lasted 2 days. You know when you know something is a bad idea but you do it anyway? Well I’m on the look out for a summery maxi dress and I’m 5’3 so this is a mission and I figured that Tk maxx might have some out of season, cheap dresses in. I went to tk maxx knowing that they sell varnish, I’d heard all sorts of tales of Nail’s Inc sets being sold cheap. I knew temptation would prevale. And I went anyway. I left with no dress but a Nail’s inc mini collection in some fab bright spring colours and OMG I found a collection of 3 Essie Summer 2012 for £9.99 – Essie normally sells at £7-11 a bottle. I got Bikini so teeny ( I already own this, but I use it a lot) mojito madness and off the shoulder. So I broke my no buy rule, but I’m happy with my new purchases and am seriously not buying any more for a while.

The ladies on the NPAA (well Sam from Polished Art) put me in the direction of some challenge groups. Brillient idea – I always struggle with what to try next and having a challenge should keep me busy being creative with the polishes I already own  – so I’m doing the Crumpets Nail Tarts – Laid Back 31 DC which started in Jan but runs on, so heres my first offering – the challenge was Ombre or Skittles. Skittles being something different on each nail. What’s not to love about this idea!

Image

So I went with China Glaze Spontaneous and White Out as my 2 main colours.

Thumb stamped on with cheeky plate CH4

Index finger is an attempt at a slash tip (all the rage on the cat walk shows it seems) I added some pink and purple glitter but you can see I took the line tape off too soon)

Middle Finger stamp Konad plate m36

ring finger – dots added with dotting tool

little finger – cheeky plate ch4

purpleskittles2

I quite like it! and the stamping was no issue – I read that if you scrape the polish towards the manufacturer logo on the plate it works better – it did. Expect more stamping coming up 🙂

The challenge

Laid Back Mani Challenge

Leave a Reply

